Tugger the SLUGger!SLUG Mailing List Archives

Re: Feedback Re: [SLUG] Music Editor/Notator

>Lilypond sounds good, but after looking at the install requirements when
>it barfed on make, I'm going to try MusixTex first as I have latex

MusixTeX doesn't require LaTeX, it's a separate format.

>Of course, I haven't been able to get a successful download of MusixTex
>yet, so things might change {:-)

There should be ready-made RPMs, DEBs or TGZs around.

Here's a sample, to let you have an idea of what's in store for you :-)
The typesetting is impeccable though. I love the quality, I can print
great music sheets even if my playing sends all the pets within a 100 m
radius running for cover. :-)

\input musixtex
\def\annote#1{\uptext{{\cmbxtiny #1}}}
\hsize 160mm \vsize 250mm
\def\outmorc{\shipout\vbox to 280mm{\vss\pagecontents\vss\line{%
%\ifodd\pageno\sl \hss \number\pageno
%\else\rm\number\pageno\hss\sl \fi%
\global\advance\count0 by 1\relax
 \ifnum\outputpenalty>-20000 \else\dosupereject\fi}%
\parindent 0mm
\def\oct{\advance\transpose by 7\relax}
\centerline{\bf Intervals}
An interval is the name given to the relationship between two notes. In
other words, the pitch between any two notes is called an interval.
Intervals are to be counted by the number of diatonic notes contained in
them, including both notes. E.g.
\NOTes \temps\annote{4$^{th}$}\zw c\hu f\enotes
\NOTes \annote{2$^{nd}$}\zhu f\rh g\enotes
Intervals can be {\it major}, {\it minor}, {\it perfect},
{\it augmented}, or {\it diminished}.
When 2nds, 3rds, 6th and 7ths are as they occur in the major scale they
are called {\it major}. If they are made smaller by one semitone they
are called {\it minor}. If they are made smaller by two semitones, they
are described as {\it diminished}. If they have been made lager by one
semitone, they are described as {\it augmented}. E.g.
\NOTEs \temps\annote{\stack{Major}{3$^{rd}$}}\zq c\qu e\enotes
\NOTEs \annote{\stack{Minor}{3$^{rd}$}}\zq c\qu{_e}\enotes
\NOTEs \annote{\stack{Diminished}{3$^{rd}$}}\zq c\qu{<e}\enotes
\NOTEs \annote{\stack{Augmented}{3$^{rd}$}}\zq c\qu{^e}\enotes
When 4ths, 5ths or octaves are as they occur in the major scale they are
called {\it perfect}. If increased by one semitone they are referred to
as {\it augmented}. If they are decreased by one semitone they are
immediately called {\it diminished}. E.g.
\NOTEs \temps\annote{\stack{Perfect}{5$^{th}$}}\zw c\wh g\enotes
\NOTEs \annote{\stack{Diminished}{5$^{th}$}}\zw c\wh{_g}\enotes
\NOTEs \annote{\stack{Augmented}{5$^{th}$}}\zw c\wh{^g}\enotes
An interval that lies within an octave is called a {\it simple
interval}. A {\it compound interval\/} is greater than an octave.  Thus
a tenth is called a compound third.
The scale of C major produces these intervals
\NOTes \temps\annote{\stack{Minor}{2$^{nd}$}}\zw c\rw d\sk\enotes
\NOTes \annote{\stack{Major}{3$^{rd}$}}\zw c\wh e\enotes
\NOTes \annote{\stack{Perfect}{4$^{th}$}}\zw c\wh f\enotes
\NOTes \annote{\stack{Perfect}{5$^{th}$}}\zw c\wh g\enotes
\NOTes \annote{\stack{Major}{6$^{th}$}}\zw c\wh h\enotes
\NOTes \annote{\stack{Major}{7$^{th}$}}\zw c\wh i\enotes
\NOTes \annote{\stack{Perfect}{octave}}\zw c\wh j\enotes